2 Handy Road, Singapore 229233

Nearest MRT station
Dhoby Ghaut (NS24/NE6/CC1)

Nearest Bus Stop
Macdonald House (B08058) or Hotel Rendezvous (B08069)

An iconic building synonymous with classic entertainment, Cathay Organisation has been entertaining generations for more than 80 years. The Cathay was established by Cathay Organisation and founder Dato Loke Wan Tho in 1939. Since opening, it has been a distinct landmark attaining many firsts – including the first skyscraper, the first air-conditioned cinema and the first cinema to screen American and British films in Singapore.

Situated in Singapore’s arts and heritage district of Bras Basah Bugis, The Cathay, formerly the Cathay Building, has seen many changes. It reopened in 2006 in its current form. To mark its opening, The Cathay hosted an Oscar-style private party that included the screening of a re-mastered digital version of the timeless classic, ‘Gone with the Wind’, which was released in the same year the building opened on Handy Road.

Today, The Cathay is a protected national monument that embraces both linear Art-Deco design and modernism with a rich history. The youth-oriented shopping mall boasts a myriad of retail, dining, leisure and entertainment options. A long-time fixture in Singapore’s urban entertainment landscape, Cathay Cineplexes’ nine cinema halls, including The Grand Cathay and Platinum Movie Suites, make it the definitive entertainment hub for young adults.

The Cathay Gallery located on level 2 is a space that celebrates the history behind Cathay’s movie empire and the Loke family’s business ventures in Singapore and Malaysia, as well as their contribution to Cathay Organisation, their properties, film production studios, film distribution, hotels and cinemas. Opening Hours: Monday to Saturdays, 11am – 7pm.

The Cathay Residences is situated on the 6th to the 17th floors of The Cathay.

1935 Associated Theatres Ltd was incorporated and this marks the beginning of Cathay’s movie empire.

1939 Cathay Cinema opened and the opening premiere featured Sir Alexander Korda’s “The Four Feathers”.

1942 Last show screened; Cathay Cinema was converted to a Red Cross casualty station.

1945 Cathay Cinema re-opens with screening of first post-WW2 movie “The Tunisian Victory”.

1990 Official opening of The Picturehouse, Singapore’s first arthouse cinema.

1991 Cathay Cinema converted into a cineplex with 3 cinemas.

2000 Construction of the new Cathay building commences.

2003 The front facade was preserved to its 1930s state and the rest of the building redeveloped.